Each province of Spain has their own regional holidays, however, there are nine national holidays observed throughout Spain.  Each region is allowed a maximum of 14 public holidays per year. There are also hundreds of regional and local festivals and saints days.

  • January 1: New Year’s Day, Año Nuevo
  • March-April (varies, Friday before Easter): Good Friday, Viernes Santo
  • May 1: Labor Day, Dia del Trabajador
  • August 15: Assumption Day, Día de la Asunción
  • October 12: Spanish National Holiday, Fiesta Nacional de España
  • November 1: All Saints Day, Día de Todos los Santos (also Day of the Dead)
  • December 6, Constitution Day, Día de la Constitución
  • December 8, Immaculate Conception Day, Día de la Inmaculada Concepción
  • December 25: Christmas, la Navidad

Perhaps the most famous regional holiday in Spain is the San Fermínes festival in Pamplona, celebrated July 6-14 of each year. The albergues in Pamplona are not open during San Fermin and all accommodations become very expensive and most are booked months in advance..